The Road Less Travelled


I have often thought about the phrase ‘The road less traveled’. I don’t think I have ever been able to concretely apply it to anything in my life past or present…. or future (as I think it will be). I think my life has the following classifications of roads:

  1. The road always travelled
  2. The road very frequently travelled
  3. The road I took once in life and found out that it’s basically not a road I want to be caught dead in
  4. The road not travelled at all

There is no less travelled road in my case. There are quite a few not travelled at all ones. And there is definitely a huge and over whelming quantity of 1. and 2.

If I take all the various aspects of my life i.e. Family, Friends, Relationships, Work, Entertainment etc etc. I find that there are options which could fall into the road less travelled bit. I however don’t think I have allowed that to happen. I think I have always either been comfortable with sticking to the tried and tested models of things or the not venturing into things with a mindset of putting my foot down because of a need to avoid confrontational situations. But I realize that there are certain things in life which are always bound to be ugly. And they aren’t necessarily long lasting ugly timelines, more like moments. There are going to be moments which well let’s just don’t exactly fit into ‘The Brady Bunch’ sort of happiness and way of handling all sorts of things.

For me I guess that would definitely fall into the road less travelled. Which I tend not identify with deliberately or sub consciously. However it can’t be that way anymore. It only ends up bearing on my mind. It would be good to note at this point in time that this is a mind which tends to wander, over think and over use it’s analytical and permutation calculation abilities. For e.g. I am not comfortable with something. I am not. Plain and simple. I should just be able to say it. But this isn’t about my fallen into categories of the road less travelled but more of what ‘the road less travelled’ represents for people.

I think I have clearly explained that in my case the road less travelled is the one without wanting to get into confrontational situations with a putting my foot down type attitude. But this road … the less travelled one holds a completely different meaning for every individual. And it’s construction comes down to the experiences and personalities of each individual.

For some the road less travelled is adventure. It is a positive road for some and while for others it is a dark place. It’s all down to each and everyone’s experience. It might be facing a fear. It might be losing oneself in too much ecstasy – the natural kind and not the one which involves pill popping… although for some the pill popping might be the road less travelled. A playboy actually falling in love is on a road less travelled. A man who constantly lives his life on spontaneity making a plan for the future is on a road less travelled. In some cases it is the choice taken against the norm and general inclination of society.

It is sometimes a path which people need to take. Sometimes it is the one they shouldn’t take but end up taking on occasion. Different perspective.. different application … different meaning for the same phrase. The road less travelled.

Life is complex. Each one of us must make his own path through life. There are no self-help manuals, no formulas, no easy answers. The right road for one is the wrong road for another…The journey of life is not paved in blacktop; it is not brightly lit, and it has no road signs. It is a rocky path through the wilderness.

                      – M. Scott Peck, Author of  The Road Less Travelled: A New Psychology of Love, Traditional Values, and Spiritual Growth

Author: Sammy Wiseguy

Marketer, blogger, reader, Arsenal fan, frequently emotionally wounded cricket fan

Leave a Reply

