On taking chances and leaps of faith


A leap of faith in its most commonly used meaning, is the act of believing in or accepting something intangible or without empirical evidence. Taking a chance in the matters of the forbidden organ (for those who are not familiar with my usage of this term, I refer to the matters of the heart) is somewhat along the same lines.

The matters of this forbidden organ have long tested me. They’ve always remained in my life. It seems like an eternity that I have spent battling with the logic involved in them.

They have been the most significant (after my faith in Allah) in wanting to believe that the taking chance part is something I need to do with the utmost belief that it will pay off without actually having any logical proof attached to it.

I know a leap of faith is mostly associated with religious beliefs. That’s where it most probably got derived from in the first place. But for me it also involves the whole taking chances bit. The thing where I have to go blindly ahead all the while keeping the faith. Taking a chance.

I know I have written before on the whole taking chances bit. Its just as I said .. always ends up popping in my life every now and then. The thing about them is that … the build up to taking chances is … massive, anxiety filled, stupidity prone etc etc. Now of late … well for quite some time now actually, I have been hesitant in wanting to take chances. I wish I would. It would feel nice to. Calculated risks are great but every now and then … one should just follow their gut instinct knowing full well that if it’s wrong then there will probably be consequences to face. However … after thinking and thinking and planning .. on what to say..and how to say it….. there always comes the ‘but’ and the ‘what ifs’.

The problem in the whole leap of faith bit when associated with taking chances factor is that the possibility of getting burned feels so much more then not being burned … that I don’t know…. it keeps me on the bay of making the actual call of whether to go for it or not.

One theory I have which could solve this debacle not just for me but for others like me (for I am sure I am not the only one) would be if there was a generally accepted principal in this world of hearing-and letting go if its a negative and carrying on with lives as they were. And not developing a grudge or a severing ties sort of thing.  Something like a ‘Get Out of Jail Free’ card like in Monopoly. It would work this way, you express yourself, the response is in the negative, you present your get out of jail free card …and all things concerning the expressing part are forgotten and you move on in life.

But sadly that’s not how things work. There is always a 99% chance that when there is a situation where expressing yourself is a stupid idea then it will prove itself just that when the time comes and your head will be going all ‘nyah nyah nyah nyah. i told you!’ and all your heart (gut instinct) would have to say is ‘what can I say? I was wrong.’

And so you see … its not easy when it comes to taking chances and leaps of faith. You just don’t know if you are ok not knowing if there is a path on the other side of the leap or bottomless pitfall.

Author: Sammy Wiseguy

Marketer, blogger, reader, Arsenal fan, frequently emotionally wounded cricket fan

Leave a Reply

