The curse of thinking…


Half of the problems with people who are depressed all the time, or are in a constant state of hypertension or anxiety in my opinion is that they overthink. Their thinking process runs into overdrive, and to a point of burnout. They start thinking everything way too much, infact overthinking it. Be it related to your work, be it related to your emotions, we tend to do that. I tend to drift into that region as well. We think, and think, and think, and soon start becoming paranoid and our thinking starts falling into the zone of hallucination, or getting ahead of where it should be. It causes a feeling of emotional insecurity as well. You start doubting everyone. You start doubting yourself. Fate seems to be your mortal enemy. You hate the future. You don’t like it at all. Its always 10 times easier for humans to imagine the worse case scenario regarding to the future in a more realistic way than it is to imagine the positive. Many a people suggest not to think over things too much. Easier said than done I can assure you.
Humans are condemed to do a few things, and one of them is thinking. Its trying to be rational about things , but often falling into the trap of like I said, being paranoid or simply paranoia. We take a thing that we can just go along with while being in the moment and turn into a series of unfortunate events. ‘I got a bad grade, my grades will keep falling, i will have to face my parents, i will not get a job, i will be a loser and a complete dissappointment to my parents.’ or ‘Well she seemed bored while tlaking to me today, maybe she doesn’t feel the same way about me as much as i do, maybe she is not the one, maybe this is not meant to be, i will end up being alone again, or rather alone forever’ and blah blah blah. Rationally perhaps we could just focus on the now more, and try to convert that into the positive. Stop thinking and overthinking about the future so much. This particular blog may probably seem, oh I don’t know , jumbled or clattered or disconnected to you. It might to me too. And for those who know me , would probably think ‘dude, you are the SAME!’ I know, thats why it all applies to me just the same and beckons me to at times not think soo much. Just try to take it as it comes. Life is way to short to be thinking about the long run. Especially more shorter when you consider its further divided into phases. I got the following in a mail forward ( yea those things make sense at times), and it hit me quite a bit.

First I was dying to finish my high school and start college. And then I was dying to finish college and start working. Then I was dying to marry and have children. And then I was dying for my children to grow old enough so I could go back to work. But then I was dying to retire. And now I am dying. And suddenly I realized I forgot to live.Please don’t let this happen to you. Appreciate your current situation and enjoy each day.

Thats right, don’t let it happen to you. To us rather. Lets not overthink, and let its curse consume us so that we forget to live.

Author: Sammy Wiseguy

Marketer, blogger, reader, Arsenal fan, frequently emotionally wounded cricket fan

Leave a Reply

